Our structure - Work For Scotland

Our structure

Our structure

The government in Scotland is structured into a number of directorates. Directorates and their related public bodies are responsible for putting government policy into practice.

The Scottish Government

  • 1 Permanent Secretary
  • 8 Director General
  • 45+ Directorates

The Permanent Secretary is the senior civil servant in Scotland. The Permanent Secretary supports the government in developing, implementing and communicating its policies.

Director generals and directorates

There are eight directors-general who head up the Scottish civil service. A director-general manages a number of directorates and agencies which are responsible for proposing legislation and putting Scottish Government policy into practice.

Executive agencies

Non-ministerial departments are headed by senior civil servants. Executive agencies are part of the Scottish Government and generally have a strong focus on the management and direct delivery of public services, but can also provide strategic policy input.